St. Joseph, a life given in love of God

March 3, 2013

st.joseph and older jesus

We may ask ourselves: ‘What is God calling me to do with this life He has given me? How should I serve Him?’ At some point, the question may become more specific: ‘Am I called to consecrated life?’ Here is when we wonder if we can leave our current way of life and take a step of faith into the unknown, placing all our trust in God. St. Joseph shows us that God will provide whatever we need for the journey He places before us. In his sleep, the angel tells Joseph to ‘take the child and his mother, and flee to Egypt and remain there until I tell you to return’. So Joseph goes where the Lord directs him, leaving behind the familiar, friends, work, home – all but the child Jesus and Mary.

In Matthew’s gospel, we hear Jesus say: “Do not be anxious about your life, what you shall eat or what you shall drink, nor about your body, what you shall put on it…your heavenly Father knows that you need them all. But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things shall be yours as well.” (Mt 6:25, 32b-33) In His words, Jesus tells us what Joseph knew in his heart.

A ‘yes’ to consecrated life is that step of faith into a land unknown, but in the company of our Lord Jesus and Mary, the Mother of Divine Hope. St. Joseph shows us how to trust. And we have Jesus’ assurance that our Father will care for our needs.

O St. Joseph, head of the Holy Family, your faith encourages us to believe that all things are possible with God. Placing all your hope in Him, you set aside the normal family life and moved in haste to an unknown land. Pray for us, St. Joseph, that we may have the courage to respond to God’s call with boldness and confidence.

Pray for us, blessed St. Joseph,
That we may be made worthy of the promises of Christ.

Let us pray.
Almighty God,
In your infinite wisdom and love
you chose Joseph to be the husband of Mary,
the mother of your Son.
As we enjoy his protection on earth,
may we have the help of his prayers in heaven,
particularly as we discern our chosen-ness.
We ask this through Christ our Lord. Amen.

One Response to “St. Joseph, a life given in love of God”

  1. Pam Johnston said

    There have been many of times in my life I am convinced that my faith has carried my through difficult times by providing light in the most unexpected ways. My faith has always been with me even before I became Catholic. Although, my faith is what brought me to the Catholic faith. Becoming Catholic was what was planned all along, for now I can look back and see the steps Jesus led me up to come to the Catholic faith. I keep listening and talking to Jesus every day and take seriously what he puts before me and ask for the strength and wisdom to see Jesus in what ever the task may be. If I find confusion, I am patient, and time always tells what is expected. When I stumble, then I feel a rumble, although then I ask Jesus for mercy and to forgive me, and this prevents a complete tumble.

Leave a Reply

